Make a Restricted Group Based on Location
You have your organization all set up and you’re ready to enforce some location restrictions. Welcome! This article will show you how.
Hotshot’s location restricted groups are designed for situations in which businesses have hourly-wage (or in legalese ‘non-exempt’) employees and the administrator wants to restrict the locations at which their employees within that group can receive messages.
In order to make a restricted group based on location, thus limiting where your employees may view their messages, first click on the “Settings” tab. Scroll down a bit -- you will see this screen:
Click on the “Admin Settings” tab. That will take you here:
Click on the “User Permissions” tab. That will take you here:
Click on the tab of the group whose time permissions you’d like to change. In this case, that’s our Team Member group, so we’ll click on its tab:
Since we’re adding Location Restrictions, we’ll click on the “Location Restrictions” tab. As we can see now, they’re currently disabled for the Team Member Group. Once we click that tab, we’ll see this screen:
As we can see here, we currently do not have any allowed location added. We can add a new location by tapping the "+" button.
- Let's start with "Add allowed country". As seen here, all of the countries enabled for location services are listed.
For this example, we are going to select Canada. Once we have selected a country, we are then redirected back to location restrictions page with our selection listed below.
- We can also add a specific location by clicking the "+" button and select "Add allowed location"
If asked, please click “Allow” to let Hotshot access your location while you are using the app. In order to set a location within which your employees can receive messages, press and hold the location of your business on your screen. This should be as exact as possible, so scroll in as close as you can to your business -- keep in mind, however, that you can adjust the precise range of the location in the next step. Click on the greyed out “200” on the distance tab, next to the abbreviation “ft” in order to adjust how many feet from the dropped pin, including everything within the blue circle, employees can receive messages. In this case, we want the blue circle to completely encompass our business (located in the heart of Salt Lake City in this example), so we’re going to expand out the circle by entering “1500” next to “ft”. That will make your screen look like this:
As you can see, location restrictions are now enabled. A map showing the area included is also shown. Anywhere outside the blue circle, employees cannot receive messages. Click add allowed location, and you’ll be taken here:
Tap back arrow from location restrictions page, we can see that Location Restrictions have been enabled. Make sure to click the “Save” button in the upper-right corner of the screen. Once you get back to the Groups screen, you’ll see this:
As you can see, the MWF Workers Custom Group now has a red “Restrictions” tab! Congratulations! You’ve successfully added time restrictions to a group.