You have your organization all set up and you’re ready to enforce some location restrictions. Welcome! This article will show you how.
Hotshot’s location restricted groups are designed for situations in which businesses have hourly-wage (or in legalese ‘non-exempt’) employees and the administrator wants to restrict the locations at which their employees within that group can receive messages.
In order to make a restricted group based on location, thus limiting where your employees may view their messages, click on the nameplate of your organization in the top left corner of the screen. Click the “Settings” tab. Under the “Admin” header, you will see the “User Permissions” tab. Click it -- you will see this screen:
Click on the “Manage” button (next to the settings cog on the right side of the screen) of the group whose location permissions you’d like to change. In this case, that’s our TTH Workers Custom group, so we’ll click on the “Manage” button to the right of its name:
Since we’re adding Location Restrictions, we’ll click on the “Location Restrictions” tab. Once we click that tab, we’ll see this screen:
Now we need to choose a location in which our employees can view our messages. Click within the “Search for a location...” box, and type in the location you’d like to use. Click on the greyed out “200” on the distance tab, next to the abbreviation “ft radius” in order to adjust how many feet from the dropped pin, including everything within the blue circle, employees can receive messages. In this case, we want the blue circle to completely encompass our business (located in the heart of Salt Lake City in this example), so we’re going to expand out the circle by entering “1500” next to “ft radius”. That will make your screen look like this:
Click the blue “Update Location Restrictions” button to enforce the restrictions. Once you do, you’ll be taken to this screen, which gives you a green confirmation message above the blue button:
As you can see, location restrictions are now enabled. A map showing the area included is also shown. When you get back to the User Permissions screen, you will see this:
As you can see, the TTH Workers Custom Group now has a red “Restrictions Enforced” tab! Congratulations! You’ve successfully added location restrictions to a group.