• You have your organization all set up and you’re ready to enforce some location restrictions. Welcome! This article will show you how. 

  • Hotshot’s location restricted groups are designed for situations in which businesses have hourly-wage (or in legalese ‘non-exempt’) employees and the administrator wants to restrict the locations at which their employees within that group can receive messages.

  • In order to make a restricted group based on location, thus limiting where your employees may view their messages, first click on the “Settings” tab. Scroll down a bit -- you will see this screen: 


  • Click on the “Admin Settings” tab. That will take you here:


  • Click on the “User Permissions” tab. That will take you here:


  • Click on the tab of the group whose time permissions you’d like to change. In this case, that’s our MWF Workers Custom group, so we’ll click on its tab: 


  • Since we’re adding Location Restrictions, we’ll click on the “Location Restrictions” tab. As we can see now, they’re currently disabled for the MWF Workers Custom Group. Once we click that tab, we’ll see this screen:


  • As we can see here, we can add an allowed location for this group. Let’s start by tapping "Add Allowed Location"

  • Now we need to choose between "Add Allowed Location" and "Add Allowed Country". Tap "Add Allowed Country", which will take you here:


  • As seen here, all of the countries enabled for location services are listed.

  • For this example, we're going to select Canada. Once selected, we are then redirected back to location restrictions tab with the selected country displaying as shown below.


  • We can also add a specific location by tapping "Add Allowed Location" again and selecting "Add Allowed Location"

  • If asked, please tap “Allow” to let Hotshot access your location while you are using the app. Once you do, you’ll be taken to this screen:


  • In order to set a location within which your employees can receive messages, press and hold the location of your business on your screen. This should be as exact as possible, so scroll in as close as you can to your business -- keep in mind, however, that you can adjust the precise range of the location in the next step. Once your pin is dropped, your screen will look like this:


  • Click on the greyed out “200” on the distance tab, next to the abbreviation “ft” in order to adjust how many feet from the dropped pin, including everything within the blue circle, employees can receive messages. In this case, we want the blue circle to completely encompass our business (located in the heart of Salt Lake City in this example), so we’re going to expand out the circle by entering “1500” next to “ft”. That will make your screen look like this:


  • Click the back arrow, and you’ll be taken here:


  • As you can see, location restrictions are now enabled. Click on the back arrow, and you’ll be taken here:


  • Again, we can see that Location Restrictions have been enabled. Make sure to click the “Save” button in the upper-right corner of the screen. Once you get back to the Groups screen, you’ll see this:


  • As you can see, the MWF Workers Custom Group now has a red “Restrictions” tab! Congratulations! You’ve successfully added time restrictions to a group.